1491 is produced by two Indigenous-owned Canadian production companies – Animiki See Digital Production (Winnipeg, MB) and Aarrow Productions (Victoria BC).

1491 had its world premiere on November 8, 2017 on APTN (Aboriginal Peoples Television Network) in Canada. It is airing on SBS/NITV in Australia. It will air on ZDF in Germany in 2018.

Barbara Hager (Metis/Cree) is 1491’s producer/writer/director.

Barbara interviewed more than 20 cultural leaders and university scholars for the series, the majority of whom are Indigenous. They include:

Dr. Sonya Atalay

Dr. Taiaiake Alfred

Lucy Bell

Cheryl Bryce

Dr. Greg Cajete

Dr. Katrina Claw

Dr. Nick Claxton

Dr. Charlotte Cote

Dr. James Crippen

Beau Dick

John Elliott

Andy Everson

Alisha Gauvreau

Dr. Gerardo Gutiérrez

Tracey Herbert

Jess Housty

Michael Kusugak

Barnaby Lewis

Cory Linklater

Dr. Dorothy Lippert

Dr. Lorenzo Magzul

Dr. Barbara Mann

Dr. Emiliano Melgar

Dr. Ruben Mendoza

Dr. Eduardo Neves

Dr. Rudy Reimer

Melissa Peterson-Renault

Dr. Ruth Shady

Dr. Henry Tantaleán

Dr. Joe Watkins

Elroy White

Dr. Eldon Yellowhorn

Contact us at 1491productions@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *